CAM-AMR Conference

The Conference on “Reducing the need for antibiotics – The contribution of Complementary and Alternative Medicine” –. was held on June 6, 2018 in Brussels

This was the first conference where this innovative approach to tackle the AMR problem was presented. 

One of the key objectives of the European One Health action plan against AMR is to boost research, development and innovation by closing current knowledge gaps, providing novel solutions and tools to prevent and treat infectious diseases.

The use of effective and safe non-antibiotic treatments of infections is one of the strategies to support appropriate use of antibiotics. Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) practices prescribe non-antibiotic treatment strategies, aiming at strengthening humans' and animals' resilience to infections. This is therefore likely to contribute to the reduction of antibiotic prescription and use. 

At the conference a team of researchers from several European universities presented the available evidence supporting the CAM contribution. Topics that were presented and discussed included:

  • Antibiotic prescription rates in conventional and CAM General Practitioner practices
  • Safe and effective CAM treatment strategies for respiratory tract infections and other infections.
  • Decision aids and information leaflets for health professionals and patients in primary care, enabling the larger community of health professionals to make use of therapeutic options from the field of CAM.

Read more on the conference website.

Conference videos

Reports of the Conference sessions with contributions of 

Session 1
Dr Ton Nicolai, Prof Erik Baars, Dr Esther van der Werf, Dr Merlin Willcox and Prof David Martin.

Session 2

Dr Ton Nicolai, Prof Roman Huber, Dr Klaus von Ammon, Prof Erik Baars, Dr Esther van der Werf-Kok, Dr Merlin Willcox, and Prof David Martin.

Session 3

Dr Ton Nicolai, Dr Dominique Monnet, Prof Philippe Hartemann, Ms Rose Gallagher, Prof Erik Baars and Dr Elio G. Rossi.

Session 4

Dr Ton Nicolai, Dr Dominique Monnet, Prof Philippe Hartemann, Ms Nina Renshaw and Mr Robert Johnstone.